Does being ‘busy’ ever end?

Does being ‘busy’ ever end?

I have felt this way for the last few months, and every time I do – I feel bad. Not only am I not the busiest person around, but I don’t have kids or other people I am responsible for and need my time and attention…so really, in the grand scheme of things, I’m not busy. I think ‘overwhelmed’ is a better way to describe how I’ve really been feeling since September, which was when I last posted on this blog.

Without going into the details, since my last post, I have…. gone through most of a uni semester feeling like I was barely treading water, sold a house (in only one day thankfully), moved house during the uni semester, started a new casual job (not nursing related), completed uni exams….and as of yesterday have just started my first (ever) clinical placement.

A post specifically about clinical placement in the near future, but as a ‘teaser’…clinical placement is a real eye-opener if you have never worked in a hospital environment before. If you’re a student nurse, I probably don’t need to tell you that it will be challenging and nerve-wracking also, but I think if you’re nervous then it means you care about doing a great job on your placement.

That’s it for today…time for me to get ready for day two, out of ten days of placement.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 09:35:49

    I’m a recently keen follower of your blog. You’re one year ahead of me, I’m going to be starting my degree at the beginning of next year.
    So I’ll be excited and very interested to hear what you have to say about placement and how it affects your business.
    I too, don’t have other responsibilities bar myself (I have no kids or pets etc) but I can imagine how busy you would be feeling.
    Good luck!
    Looking forward to hear how it all goes.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Nurse Uncut

Musings of a student nurse from Sydney, Australia

James Arvanitakis

Musings of a student nurse from Sydney, Australia

meta4RN

The online home of Paul McNamara: Nurse. Educator. Digital Citizen.

ofcourseitsaboutyou

Opines & Fading Memories

musingsofastudentnurse

Adventures of a nursing student

Ramblings of a student nurse

From admission to registration

Student Nurse Odyssey

Trials, tribulations and adventures of a student children's nurse!

Optimurse Prime

A look at nursing as a profession, a university course and a psychosis inducer!

The Student Nurse Converse

Musings of a student nurse from Sydney, Australia

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Pride in Photos

Beauty.Inspiration.Lifestyle.

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

Nursing Adventures

The Exciting World Of Nursing

Nursing and Respiratory Care

Everything and anything about nursing, health and respiratory care.